Tire Advice big or small

Gday guys just a quick one

Im replacing the standard tires on the 2010 GU ute to a BF Goodrich Km2 muddy and im thinking about going up one size to a 33inch or equivalent just wondering if ill have any issues with scrubbing ect

Any advice appreciaeted Cheers

Reply By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:29

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:29
Hi Patrol Chris.

Are you talking about tyres here. Sorry mate but I really don't like americanisms.

You have certainly picked the best tyre I don't think that you can beat the BFG. Be careful about the increase in tyre size. In Qld you can only increase the diameter by 25mm so if you want to go the 33's you may have to decrease the rim size from 16" to 15" to stay legal.

Kev
AnswerID: 454489

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:18

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:18
Never tried Toyo M/T's then?

To give you an idea KM2's weigh 23Kg per tyre compared with the Toyo's 31Kg per tyre.

The extra 7Kg's must be somewhere.
FollowupID: 727352

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:58

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:58
Don't quite follow you on the rim change. Isn't the law a maximum of 25mm diameter extra??, regardless of rim size it is the overall diameter that matters
FollowupID: 727358

Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 04:45

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 04:45
gooday Kev :Can you give us a tip on why BFG are better .

Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 727373

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 05:55

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 05:55
In most states it's 15 mm not 25 mm. There is a tyre size calculater on this site. Mike
FollowupID: 727376

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:34

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:34
Tyre diameter can be 15mm larger or 26mm smallervehicle mods qld
FollowupID: 727388

Follow Up By: PatrolChris - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 20:14

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 20:14
So is my one size up from the stock size bigger then 15mm?
FollowupID: 727496

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 01:52

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 01:52
The tyre size calculator has a compare function. Put the 2 different sizes in and it will calculate the different diameter for you. A very handy tool. If you google tyre size calculator then the exploroz one is near the top. Mike
FollowupID: 727525

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 11:37

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 11:37
Sorry Kev - Tire is also english spelling.

Originally in english tire and tyre could be used interchangeably then the spelling "tyre" fell out of use for a 150 years or so in english and the term was spelt "tire".

When pneumatic "tires" were invented in the late 19th century the spelling "tyre" was introduced to indicate these type of tyres - the spelling tire remained to indicate the general term and to indicate non pneumatic tyres.

So arguable in British english and Australian english both spelling is correct. In American English only "tire"is used - which indicates tyres in all there forms - pneumatic, solid rubber, water filled, steel - whatever.

Garry
FollowupID: 727560

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 19:11

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 19:11

Km2's are a great tyre if you can get them. Going to 33's will give you less power, possibly more fuel usage and less braking especially if you have a DX with the drum rear end.

Also if you spare goes under your tray make sure it fits.

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 454611

Follow Up By: PatrolChris - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 20:10

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 20:10
Its an ST so i think i should be ok, the spares sit up on a custom carrier above some toolboxes so problem solved :)

How obvious will the power loss be do you think? Maybe i should stick with the standard size if the cons out weigh the pros?
FollowupID: 727495

Reply By: blown4by - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:26

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:26
You are allowed to increase the diameter 50mm and reduce it 26mm from standard on 4x4's and increase by 15mm and reduce by 26mm on cars, utes, etc. Read the Light Vehicle National Code of Practice VSB14 tyre section. With many tyres when you increase the size the diameter increases so you have to drop the rim diameter to fit a wider/taller tyre than the standard and stay within the limits allowed in VSB14. If you fit 33inch tyres, 33inches is the diameter so no matter what rim size you use the tyres are still 33 inches diameter. You need to check the diameter of the std 275/65R17 tyres against the 838mm diameter of the 33 inch tyres
AnswerID: 454635

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 08:58

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 08:58
blown4by

I thought the 50mm tyre increase for 4wds was soon going to take affect. I didn't know it was already in use. Do you have a reference to where you have your information from? it would be good to have to be sure.
FollowupID: 727536

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 09:12

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 09:12
Well, I've looked up the current legislation and nowhere does it mention an increase of 50mm.

In fact it mentiones that off-road passanger vehciles can increase the tyre diameter by only 15mm. Can't get much clearer then that.

See section 44 on page 65

Transport Operations (Road Use ManagementVehicle Standards and Safety) Regulation 2010

44 Alternative tyres, rims and wheels
(1) Tyres and rims fitted to a motor vehicle that is a car, car
derivative or off-road passenger vehicle need not comply with
section 7(1) or 8(1) if—
(a) the combination of tyre and rim—
(i) has a diameter that is—
(A) not more than 15mm more than the diameter
specified by the vehicle’s manufacturer; or
(B) not more than 26mm less than the diameter
specified by the vehicle’s manufacturer; and
FollowupID: 727538

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 10:36

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 10:36
blown4by

I've finally found what you are referring to, and you are correct, kind of.

The National Code of Practice allows for a 50mm increase on 4wd's but, (and it says so in the preface) state legislation overides NCOP's. So I am not sure if any state actually allows it. Qld certainly doesn't.

VSB14

See point 4.2.4 on page 21
Section LS Tyres, Rims, Suspension and Steering

FollowupID: 727552

Follow Up By: blown4by - Friday, May 20, 2011 at 23:34

Friday, May 20, 2011 at 23:34
WA allows 50mm increase in diameter on 4WD t(not AWD) tyres and has done so since VSB14 was first introduced in January 2006 or 2007. Time flies when you are having fun. VSB14 is a National Code of Practice administered by the Feds but each State Transport authority has a representative who together put the document together and update its content from time to time to cover new developments in vehicle modifications, what is happening in industry etc. Between each new version their is a public comment/submission period where individuals and specific interest groups (4WD lobby) can have input. VSB14 specifies what modifications are legal and whether approval is required and whether that approval needs to be covered by simple mod permit or engineering approval.
FollowupID: 727895

Follow Up By: Rob! - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 10:58

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 10:58
That appears to be correct for WA, as there is no reference to tyre modifications in their state legislation. This is not the case in some other states.
FollowupID: 728159